University of Oregon

Adding a Page: Content Access

As the owner/author of a page, or if you belong to a group that has been delegated access control permission to the content, you have the ability to restrict access to the page by using the "Access Control" tab.

This allows you to set "View", "Edit" and "Delete" access privileges to groups.... as well as "Set" (delegate) access control privilegs to a group of users.

Privileges

View: Allow the group of users to view the content.

Edit: Allow the group of users to edit the content.  Only applies if the user has "view" access as well.

Delete: Allow the group of users to remove the content from the site.  Only applies if the user has "view" and "edit" access as well.

Set Access: Allow the group of users the ability to set access control on the content.  Only applies if the user has "view" access to the content.

[[wysiwyg_imageupload:469:height=271,width=601]]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

or individual users...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Common Use Case:

The most common application for this method of access control is to remove "anonymous" viewing access to the page.  To do this uncheck the "anonymous" and "authenticated" roles under the "View this Content" and then check the roles you want to be able to view the content.

 

Access Control Content Mangement:

Only the owner/author of the page will have the ability to set access control on a content page initially.  This means that if you have a page that is editable by a particular group, only the owner/author will be able to set access control unless the owner/author uses the "Set Access" privilege to delegate the access control permissions.