University of Oregon

Site License Advisory Group

Audience
Faculty/Staff
Researcher
Student
GTF

Charge
The Site License Advisory Group is charged to review annually, in advance of budget deadlines, centrally-managed software site licenses and to make recommendations on continuing offering the same software licenses, changing quantities, adding new software licenses, or discontinuing software licenses that no longer fit the needs of the University.

Successes

Academic departments, schools and units have long purchased individual licenses of specialized software. Through the successful work of the campus-wide Software License Advisory Group, a number of new software packages are now acquired through campus site license or volume purchases. The group has expanded available software titles such as MATLAB, Qualtrics, and SPSS by identifying and pooling campus resources that would have been spent on individual licenses. The Software License Advisory Group also reviews and prioritizes software requests, raises awareness of potential opportunities for sharing resources, and assists in the collection of funds.

Members
Comprised of faculty, students, associate deans, and technology professionals, the Site License Advisory Group was formed in Fall 2009.

Name Unit / School Email Address
Anya Kivarkis Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, A&AA anya@uoregon.edu
TBD College of Arts and Sciences IT/SSIL position  
Randy Kamphaus Associate Dean, College of Education randyk@uoregon.edu
Mark Carey Associate Dean, Robert Donald Clark Honors College carey@uoregon.edu
Julie Newton Interim Dean, School of Journalism and Communication jhnewton@uoregon.edu
Jennifer Espinola Associate Dean, School of Law espinola@uoregon.edu
Collette Niland Assistant Dean, Lundquist College of Business collette@uoregon.edu
Toby Koenigsberg Associate Professor, Jazz Piano, and Associate Director for Jazz Studies, School of Music and Dance tobyk@uoregon.edu
Charles Williams Assosiate Vice President for Innovation, Innovation Partnership Services crw@uoregon.edu
Sara Brownmiller Director, Library Services, UO Libraries snb@uoregon.edu
Cleven Mmari Director, Student Affairs Information Technology cmmari@uoregon.edu
Vacant Graduate Student N/A
Vacant ASUO N/A
Ryan Goodrich UO Site License Coordinator, Information Services davidrg@uoregon.edu
Helen Chu Director, Academic Technology, UO Libraries helenc@uoregon.edu